civil war

Flags of the Civil War

CIVIL WAR ERA FLAGS Following the election of Abraham Lincoln as President of the United States in November 1860, South Carolina passed an ordinance of secession relinquishing its allegiance to the Union.  Not long after, six weeks, Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi and Texas followed.  These states organized themselves into the Confederate States of America […]

Continue Reading